Little Buddha (with the jade ball), the author is Dashi Namdakov

Auction ended
Current betBets history
2400$

Little Buddha (with the jade ball), the author is Dashi Namdakov. This is a unique version of the sculpture with a jade ball. Bronze, jade, molding, patinating. 111x147x53 mm; 182x245x107 mm

Auction ended

Auction description

Little Buddha (with the jade ball), the author is Dashi Namdakov.

This is a unique version of the sculpture with a jade ball. Bronze, jade, molding, patinating. 111x147x53 mm; 182x245x107 mm

The lot presented in our auction is a unique reduced copy of the sculpture composition created by the renowned Buryat artist Dashi Namdakov.

The original sculpture is in the territory of the Ivolginsky Datsan (the Buddhist temple) and the monastery complex near the capital of Buryatia, Ulan-Ude. In summer 2011, the famous sculptor presented his work for fellow-countryman.

The sculpture depicts the little Buddha sleeping on the back of the young lion. Under the lion’s paw is a ball that symbolizes the universe. The Little Buddha is a symbol of tranquility and peace, the purity of the original consciousness capable to turn all imperfections of this world into a diamond, a symbol of the spiritual perfection potential dormant in a human. Experts point out that this composition is a special expression of the meaning and purpose of the Buddha's teachings in the art form.

According to the head of the Russian Sangha the Hambo Lama Damba Ayusheev, up to 30-ies of the last century in the Buryat datsans there had been a tradition to make religious attributes. Not so long ago in the Ivolginsky Datsan it was managed to organize a foundry shop and art workshop. The local craftsmen make things here for interior and exterior decoration of temples; they create different attributes, sculptures and statues of deities of the Buddhist pantheon. Dashi Namdakov, impressed by the work of the Buryat masters, offered for Hambo Lama a patent for the manufacture of miniature copies of his Little Buddha.

The first lot of sculptures was made in 2014. 11 pieces from 30 now belong to the Buryat government, one is owned by the President of Mongolia, and one sculpture belongs to the first professional Buryat sumo wrestler world-known Anatoly Mihahanov. The rest of the pieces have gone to private collections around the world.

Especially for the project QuaintBaikalPearls.com in summer 2015 with the agreement of Dashi Namdakov the masters of the foundry shop in Ivolginsky Datsan produced a unique version of the sculpture of Little Buddha but replaced the bronze ball under the lion’s paw with a jade one. For the production of this element it was used a unique Baikal jade. The sculpture has a “brand” of the producers of the author Dashi Namdakov and the datsan art workshop.

  • Photo: Alexander Novikov

Video: The birth of a pearl of your collection

«Маленький Будда» c нефритовым шаром, автор Даши Намдаков

Торги закончены
2400$

«Маленький Будда», автор Даши Намдаков. Уникальная версия скульптуры с нефритовым шаром. Бронза, нефрит, литье, патинирование. 111х147х53 мм; 182х245х107 мм

Торги закончены

Описание лота

Уникальная версия скульптуры с нефритовым шаром. Бронза, нефрит, литье, патинирование. 111х147х53 мм; 182х245х107 мм

Представленный на нашем аукционе лот – уникальная уменьшенная копия скульптурной композиции известного на весь мир бурятского художника Даши Намдакова.

Оригинал скульптуры находится на территории Иволгинского дацана (буддистского храма) и монастырского комплекса недалеко от столицы Бурятии Улан-Удэ. Летом 2011 года знаменитый скульптор подарил свою работу землякам.

Скульптура изображает маленького Будду, спящего на спине юного льва. Под лапой льва находится шар, символизирующий мироздание. «Маленький Будда» – символ безмятежности и умиротворения, чистоты изначального сознания, способного все несовершенства этого мира превратить в бриллиант, символ дремлющего в человеке потенциала духовного совершенства. Эксперты отмечают, что эта композиция является особым выражением смысла и цели Учения Будды в художественной форме.

Как рассказал глава Сангхи России Хамбо лама Дамба Аюшеев, до 30-х годов прошлого столетия в бурятских дацанах существовала традиция изготовления религиозной атрибутики. Не так давно в Иволгинском дацане удалось организовать литейный цех и художественную мастерскую. Здесь местные мастера изготавливают предметы для внутреннего и внешнего убранства храмов, создают различную атрибутику, скульптуры и статуи божеств буддийского пантеона. Даши Намдаков, впечатленный работами бурятских мастеров, предложил Хамбо ламе патент на изготовление миниатюрных копий его «Маленького Будды».

Первая партия скульптур была изготовлена в 2014 году. Сегодня часть фигур находится у бурятского правительства, одна у президента Монголии, одна у первого профессионального бурятского сумоиста с мировым именем Анатолия Михаханова. Остальные фигуры разошлись по частным коллекциям во всем мире.

Специально для проекта QuaintBaikalPearls.com летом 2015 года мастера литейного цеха Иволгинского дацана изготовили уникальную версию скульптуры Маленького Будды: бронзовый шар под лапой льва был заменен нефритовым. Для изготовления этого элемента был использован уникальный байкальский нефрит. Отметим, автор скульптуры – Даши Намдаков – дал свое согласие на изменение первоначальной версии «Маленького Будды». Скульптура имеет «клеймо» производителей – автора работы Даши Намдакова и художественной мастерской дацана.

 

Фото: Александр Новиков

Видео: где и как родилась жемчужина вашей коллекции